Beer 9 of winter

Stone Lukcy

Brewer: Stone                    Craft: Lukcy Basartd                   ABV: 8.5%

The anticipation for this one was pretty high.  Stone makes a quality IPA.  And when they decide to blend three of their Bastards together, (the Arrogant Bastard, the Double Bastard, and the Oaked Arrogant Bastard), you’d think that would create like three times the goodness…

So the first sip was a disappointment.  That’s right.  Bummed.  Maybe I built it up too much in my head?  Maybe I set my expectations too high?  Maybe, it was just…normal?

No worries folks.  Let’s discuss.  The beer starts off pretty simple.  The aroma of malty sweetness and hops is all I get from this craft.  But that’s enough to pique my interest.  Then you start to drink it.  So as I said, the first sip fell flat for me.  It wasn’t like it was bad.  Not at all.  The malty sweetness blends with the hops and drinks like an English-style ale.  Okay.  A normal, standard, run-of-the-mill ale from Stone.  What?

So I kept drinking.  And as the craft warmed, the beer opened up.  The hop character came forward and I got notes of rye and hop bitterness.  The malty sweetness mellowed into a caramel smoothness.  The oak also seems to have added a mellowing character to the craft which made it more quaffable.  I think I even hinted at some vanilla notes in there.

What started as a simple, regular, malty, hoppy ale, transformed into a complex, smooth, bitter, malty, oaked, blended craft.  I feel like one Lukcy Basartd for getting to experience it.

Make sure you note that I let the beer warm.  Sometimes with a craft or blend like this, letting your beer warm does exactly what it did for me.  It can open up more layers of flavor that aren’t there when you start.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

