Beer 13 of winter

New Holland Cabin Fever

Brewer: New Holland               Craft: Cabin Fever brown ale            ABV: 6.5%

My idea for this one was to let them do the talking and see if I could pick up what they were laying down.  They have a description on their label, so let’s see how it worked out.

What they said: “Hints of rye, roast, and raisin join a subtle caramel sweetness before a clean finish.”

What I say: It starts off malty with a caramel sweetness offset by a bite from the rye.  You can feel the bite linger on your tongue.  I do get the raisin, but it is very subtle.  The roasty makes the brown ale subtly nutty.  It’s an earthy, almost savory beer.  This would, in my opinion, go well with a good steak or some aged cheese.

This a nice change of pace from all of the winter warmers out there.  And I enjoyed this craft more than I expected.  I hope you do as well.

Leave a Reply

