Beer 14 of winter

Flying Dog K-9 Winter

Brewer: Flying Dog                Craft: K-9 Winter Ale                ABV: 7.4%

Man that’s good beer.  That’s what I keep saying every time I take a sip of this craft.  Solid malty aroma starts this one off on a good note.  When you take the first sip, that’s when the fun really starts.  Most winter warmers are malty, with a nice blend of spice notes and subtle fruit notes.  Not this one my friends.

K-9 has a solid malty backbone which gives it the warmth and body you expect.  But that’s where things get better.  This winter ale has complex fruity character that flirts with your tongue and draws you back for sip after supple sip.  For me, I taste grape, apple, melon, raisin, the list could go on…

What this warmer does not have is spice notes that kick you in the mouth and have you begging for mercy.  The notes I pick up on are so subtle that you only notice them in the lingering deliciousness left on your tongue.  To be honest, it’s a toss-up as to whether those are hops or spices that I’m sensing.  Who cares.  How I enjoy being surprised in a good way when I try a new beer.  So don’t you be surprised if you enjoy this craft as much as I did.  Man that’s good beer.

Leave a Reply

