Beer 15 of winter

Sierra Nevada Porter

Brewer: Sierra Nevada              Craft: Porter                ABV: 5.6%

I wanted a porter or a stout tonight, so I went with the Sierra Nevada Porter.  Wise I was.  The roasty aroma hit my nose and I knew I had made the right choice.  A hint of chocolate also wafted up as I took the first sip.

The roasted malt comes forward first as you drink this craft.  Then you get the chocolate and coffee notes.  This is not a complicated porter.  It is smooth and delicious.

When you make something this simple, you want to get it right or it ends up boring or uneventful or forgetful even.  Not this one.  This is a quality porter that sets the standard for others to match.

Leave a Reply

