Beer 19 of winterr…

Ithaca Embrr

Brewer: Ithaca                   Craft: Embrr                   ABV: 6.6%

Brrrr!  It’s cold outside!  Sorry, I couldn’t resist.

Embrr is a rye porter.  Intriguing.  A porter with rye.  Huh?!

The roasty aroma of malted barley that wafts up from my glass reminds me of how I feel when I have a good cup of coffee.  Comfort.  I hope that this tastes as good as it smells.

I won’t make you wait too long.

Still waiting?  Ok.  This craft is smooth, with notes of roasted barley, chocolate, and caramel.  Those are some of the characters that I look for in a good porter.  But then something happens that you don’t always find.  The rye.

Since this craft is a rye porter, I was curious as to how that rye was going to fit in.  Well, it adds a depth to this porter that you think isn’t going to work, but it does.  That bitter bite you get when you drink a beer made with rye.  Awesome.  It’s roasty.  It’s sweet.  It’s bitter.  Comfort.

This craft is what you choose when you’re looking for something to have with a dessert that is rich and filled with dark chocolate of some sort.  Or, just have it because it is rich and dark and bittersweet on its own.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

