Beer 34 of winter – smooth magic

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f0e/79972394/files/2015/01/img_0535.jpg
Brewer: Firestone Walker       Craft: Velvet Merlin       ABV: 5.5%

I’ve been looking forward to getting a chance to try this craft.  Well, tonight was the night.  I went on a date with my wife.  Without the kids!  Woohoo!  We went to a place called Harry’s Taproom in Blue Bell, PA.  If you live around there, give the place a try.  They serve bacon with anything you want.  Because bacon makes everything better.  But they also have a solid selection of craft beers on tap, as well as a lengthy bottle selection.  So whenever there’s an opportunity to visit there, I take it.

And tonight, there happened to be the Velvet Merlin on tap.  Well giddy up.  This oatmeal stout is everything I wanted it to be.  Just like I titled this post, it was some smooth magic.  It is chocolatey.  It has luscious coffee notes.  A nuttiness from the oatmeal is subtle but welcomed. And at only 5.5%, you could certainly have a few of these and not realize you’ve been sawed in half.  Get it?  Get it?  Ummm, anyway…

I’m thankful I got to spend some quality time with my wife tonight.  And I’m also thankful that I got a chance to have a Velvet Merlin.  I could have one for breakfast.  Or for dessert.  Or just because.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

