Beer 39 of winter – Liberty or Death!

Anchor Liberty Ale

Brewer: Anchor       Craft: Liberty Ale       ABV: 5.9%

I’m not sure why, but I didn’t think I would like the Liberty Ale.  It sounded kind of basic from the description.  So when I took my first sip, I was pleasantly surprised.  This craft has more layers than I expected.

And actually, before we even get to taste, check out that color.  Another surprise!  Slightly hazy, ambery golden goodness.  Now for those layers.  It starts off as a simple pale ale.  Slightly bitter, crisp and clean.  But as I kept drinking, I picked up on some floral notes.  And then I got a buttery creaminess.  Oh wait, now I’m getting a little peppery spice, probably from the hops.

This might be one of my new favorite beers.  I like it because it’s sneaky.  It is simple, yet complex.  It is clean, yet hazy.  It is crisp, yet buttery.  It is floral, yet peppery.  This is one of those head shakers in a good way.  Considering that this craft was created to “celebrate the 200th anniversary of Paul Revere’s ride”, the surprise it gave me was reminiscent of the surprise our revolutionaries were given on that fateful night.  What a celebration it is!  Give me Liberty…

Leave a Reply

