Beer 41 of winter – STP

Wells Sticky Toffee Pudding Ale

Brewer: Wells       Craft: Sticky Toffee Pudding Ale       ABV: 5.0%

Wells, if a beer ever tasted and smelled like it is named, then this is it.  I’ve been curious about this craft for a while.  Every time I go to the store to buy some beer, I walk past this ale and wonder: “does that really taste like that?  And can that be good?”

Yes.  And yes.  The aroma of toffee, (a warm, sugary, caramely smell), immediately hits your nose.  Weird, strange, and intriguing.  So I drink.  And the head shaking begins.  In a good way!  It literally tastes like your sucking on a piece of English toffee.  And at the same time drinking a malty English ale.

There are no layers here.  You get what you get and you don’t get upset.  It’s unabashedly either a dessert ale or a breakfast ale.  That’s right.  I could have this for breakfast.  Instead of sugar in my coffee, I could have ale with some toffee.  If you’re looking for something completely different, this is it.  Sticky Toffee Pudding Ale is one of those crafts that I’m glad I tried, but I don’t think I’d have again.  Don’t let that stop you from trying it!  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

