Beer 42 of winter – perfectly piercing pear pilsner

Dogfish Head Piercing Pils

Brewer: Dogfish Head       Craft: Piercing Pils       ABV: 6.0%

Ooooh, alliteration.  The first time I had this craft, which was over a year ago, I was unimpressed.  It just didn’t sing to me.  Well, this goes to show you that you need to try something a couple times before you really decide.  I’m having the Piercing Pils again, and this time the tune is piercing my tongue.

I think the first time I didn’t really get what Dogfish Head was trying to achieve with this craft.  Maybe time, maturity, and experience have given me a better perspective.  Piercing Pils is definitely a pilsner.  It is crisp, and clean, and has that bitterness from the Saaz hops you expect in a pilsner.  And the aroma of those hops just screams to me eastern European beer.  I smell it and feel like I’m immediately whisked away to Germany or the Czech Republic.

But then I get a smoothness, and subtle sweetness, which must come from the pear.  This, to me, makes this a winter pilsner.  Typically you’d be drinking a pilsner in the hot summer months, as most are only crisp, clean, and refreshing.  But this is what Dogfish Head likes to do – mess with the norms of brewing and give you a product that makes you think.

I’d definitely have this craft again.  I like it because it’s the same but different.  That’s right.  The same but different.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

