Beer 60 of winter – Make a Fuss…

Conshy ESB

Brewer: Conshohocken       Craft: Puddlers Row ESB       ABV: 5.4%

That’s right.  That’s what we do.  We fuss.  And that’s why we drink what we drink.  Enough on that then.

Back to my hometown brewery.  As I drink this extra special bitter, I feel like I’m in an English pub.  Before I get too far, I must admit that I’m still fighting off the cold with which I’ve been blessed so my sense of smell is not what I’d like it to be.

That being said, I can still taste and this craft tastes malty, and caramely, and bitter.  It starts off with a solid malt backbone.  The English malts impart a sweet, bready, and caramely character to the beer.  And then the European hops take over and give this bitter its title character.

The way Conshy mingles those characters together creates a story that I want to keep drinking and drinking.  Every once in a while I’ll try to talk with an English accent and my wife just shakes her head at me in disappointment and, well, pity I think.  Maybe if I drank more Puddlers Row I’d sound more like I was really in that pub.  Cheers!

Rating: Four-Pack (I like this craft, but I think four at a time is enough. You can always go back later and get four more if you need.)

Leave a Reply

