Beer 67 of winter – dessert is served

Southern Tier Creme Brulee

Brewer: Southern Tier       Craft: Creme Brulee       ABV: 9.5%

Sharing is caring, they say.  So when I saw a bottle of this craft at Weis Markets I was excited to share it with Kristin, as she has become a fan of dark beer.  I was introduced to this beer by Chris, the man who I credit with initiating my interest in craft beer.  I mentioned him before in Beer 6 of winter and am always thankful for his friendship.

The first time I had this dessert in a glass, I did not like it at all.  I couldn’t get over how sweet it is.  But that didn’t stop me from trying it again.  And again.  One thing I’ve learned over the years is that the palate is always changing and growing.  For example, when I was young I would never have thought of eating sushi.  Now it is one of my favorite meals.  Never think that you don’t like something now because you didn’t like it before.

So the second time I had the Creme Brulee, I enjoyed it.  I had had a few years of growth since the first tasting.  I could appreciate the beer more and understood what Southern Tier did when they crafted this stout.  But it was still one of those beers that I wasn’t quite sure about.

And now to the present.  The gift of craft beer.  The Creme Brulee is, and I try not to exaggerate so please believe me, THE smoothest beer I have ever had.  I cannot think of another beer that drinks smoother than this one.  Caramel and vanilla notes abound as the snifter draws near to my nose.  I take my first sip.  And I just giggle with joy.  That has only happened to me a handful of times.  The vanilla notes are strong and bold and present from start to finish.  The caramel notes push their way through every so often.  The roasted, malty notes give this stout its solid backbone on which the craft is built.  It is SO SMOOTH!

This is the perfect example for me of why you keep trying.  Never give up.  I won’t have this beer for a while.  I know that sounds strange.  But it is that good.  I don’t want to ruin the experience.  I will definitely have it again.  And I can’t wait to see what the experience is like then.  Some beers you can pair with food.  This craft does not require that.  It really is dessert in a glass.  Wow.  Cheers!

Rating: buy a 22 oz. bottle

Leave a Reply

