Beer 7 of Spring – It’s the Right Time

Lagunitas NightTime

Brewer: Lagunitas       Craft: NightTime       ABV: 7.9%

If you’re looking for a walk-off, this is it.  This concept is one that was introduced to me by my friend Chris, who also brought me into the craft beer experience years ago.  A walk-off is a craft that you make your last beer of the night – because it is that good and you don’t want to ruin it with anything else.

NightTime is a solid black ale.  It has a nice malty, roasty backbone.  It drinks smooth.  It also has a solid hop presence that balances well with the sweetness of the malts.  There is a smoky character to this craft that is unexpected but welcomed.  I’m getting notes of coffee and cocoa as well, which I’m thinking are coming from the roasted malts.

I’m not surprised that this is a limited release from Lagunitas.  This is a craft that I would look forward to every year.  I’m also surprised that this craft doesn’t get more love.  I think this might be one of my favorite dark beers right now.  Go find it and buy some before it’s gone!  Cheers!

Rating: buy at least one six-pack, maybe – two!

Leave a Reply

