Beer 13 of Spring – Eye of the Tiger

Sixpoint Bengali

Brewer: Sixpoint       Craft: Bengali       ABV: 6.5%

This is not the first time I’ve had this craft.  Nor will it be the last.  Sixpoint says that “beer is culture”.  Well call me Pearl cause I like being cultured.  Actually, don’t call me Pearl.  That would just be weird.  But you can call me a fan of this craft.  See what I did there?

For me, Bengali is up there with Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA.  I know.  Big shoes.  But this IPA has a solid hop presence throughout.  You can feel it on your tongue.  It lingers there.  As it should.  And then the caramel flavor builds.  Smooths it out.  I also get some subtle orange and apple notes too.  Maybe that’s just me.  But the sweetness is just a kiss.  Just enough to keep you coming back for another sip.

Sixpoint calls what they do “Mad Science”.  I call it delicious refreshment.  If you’re looking for another IPA to try, this is a wise choice.  Not many IPAs as simple as this craft are as good as it is.

Rating: Get a six-pack…and then get another one

Leave a Reply

