Beer 20 of Spring – take me away

Orkney Skull Splitter

Brewer: Orkney       Craft: Skull Splitter       ABV: 8.5%

I feel like I’m in a pub somewhere in Europe when I drink this craft.  Pretty cool.  It’s not often you’re transported somewhere during a drinking experience.

And now I’m going to let The Orkney Brewery do the talking.  They describe the aroma and the taste of this craft way better than I could.  And, maybe obviously, they are pretty accurate in their description.  So here’s what they say:

“On the Nose: this robust beer has a fruity malt character, with hints of dark fruits, spicy hop, dates and figs.

On the Palate: the sweet toasted malt creates a rich, and complex character of molasses, fresh and dried fruits with hints of warming spices.”

Wow.  Someone certainly spent some time coming up with that, because it is eerily on point.  I don’t really even want to amend any of it as it actually might detract from the craft.  I will say that this feels more like something I’d enjoy in autumn rather than spring.  The one thing I would add to this would be that the carbonation is effervescent, which helps give it legs in any season.

This craft was recommended to me by the beer guy at my local grocery store, which is where I get most of my craft beer.  So I was looking for a good time to give it a try.  I had a phone conversation today with my mother which made me feel like this craft would be appropriate.  Although my skull did not split into pieces, it certainly did help me relax and brought me to a place in which I’d enjoy being.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to be in a pub somewhere in Europe right now?

Rating: six-pack

Leave a Reply

