Beer 21 of Spring – Crush it

Otter Creek

Brewer: Otter Creek       Craft: Over Easy       ABV: 4.6%

Crush it!  Crush it good!  Thirsty at breakfast?  Looking for something to replace your orange juice?  Drink Over Easy.  Looking for an alternative to soda at lunch?  Drink Over Easy.  Looking for a refreshing start to your session?  Drink Over Easy.

This is one of those beers that tastes good any time of day.  It fits any occasion.  It serves its purpose.  This session ale is, as Otter Creek says on the bottle, “Highly Crushable Ale.”

The hop aromas are varied and range from lemon to bitter to floral.  It smells enticing.  I want to drink it because it smells so good.  The tastes are less varied, but that’s okay.  It’s a session ale.  I don’t need it to have layers upon layers.  I want it to taste good and refreshing.  The lemon is there, along with some tangerine.  The bitter hop tastes are there, but not overly so.  They balance the sweetness of the citrus notes.

There are a good few session ales out there right now.  This might be at the top of the list for me.  It tastes like spring and makes me yearn for summer nights out on the deck.  I don’t have a deck yet, but when I build it, I’ll be drinking this on it.  I would certainly bring this when I go camping for the first time this summer to drink around the campfire.  Cheers!

Rating: buy a case!

Leave a Reply

